Silo Books image

How to Read Silo Books in Order of Story

Silo Books in Order: Immerse yourself in the captivating world of the Silo series by Hugh Howey, where humanity’s survival hinges on life underground. In this gripping dystopian saga, the three main books, “Wool,” “Shift,” and “Dust,” take readers on a thrilling journey through a post-apocalyptic landscape. From the secrets and conspiracies of Silo 18 to the origins of the Silos themselves, and the ultimate battle for freedom and survival, each installment unravels a tapestry of suspense, mystery, and resilience. Step into this thought-provoking universe and prepare to be captivated by a series that explores the depths of human nature against the backdrop of a claustrophobic underground society.

What order should I read the Silo series?

1. Wool:

DUST book Silo (series)

Start with “Wool,” as it introduces readers to the underground society of Silo 18 and follows the protagonist, Juliette Nichols, as she uncovers the secrets and conspiracies surrounding their existence. Juliette Nichols, a skilled mechanic, stumbles upon dangerous secrets and conspiracies within the Silo’s confines. Determined to uncover the truth, she risks everything to challenge the oppressive regime and expose the mysteries of their existence. Howey’s masterful storytelling immerses readers in a post-apocalyptic world where trust is scarce and survival is paramount. With compelling characters and a gripping narrative, “Wool” explores themes of control, resilience, and the unyielding human spirit, setting the stage for an epic dystopian saga.


2. Shift:

SHIFT Book Silo (series)

After completing “Wool,” move on to “Shift.” This book acts as a prequel and explores the origins of the Silos and the events that led to their creation. The narrative shifts between the present and the past, delving into the events that led to the creation of the underground societies. As secrets and betrayals come to light, the reader witnesses the manipulation and control wielded by those in power. “Shift” expands the scope of the Silo series, painting a complex picture of the world before the apocalypse and deepening the understanding of the characters and their motivations. It sets the stage for a gripping continuation, further exploring the mysteries of this dystopian universe.

“Shift” provides essential background information and expands the scope of the series by delving into the history and mysteries of the Silos.


3. Dust:

WOOL Book Silo (series)

Conclude the main trilogy with “Dust.” “Dust,” the final book of the Silo series by Hugh Howey, thrusts readers into the climactic battle for freedom and survival. As the truth about the Silos is exposed, the inhabitants of Silo 18 face their greatest challenges yet. Juliette Nichols and her allies confront the oppressive forces that have kept humanity imprisoned underground. The stakes are higher than ever as the fate of the Silo dwellers hangs in the balance. With gripping intensity, “Dust” weaves together the threads of the series, delivering a satisfying conclusion that explores themes of resistance, sacrifice, and the indomitable spirit of humanity in the face of adversity.

This book brings together the events and characters from the previous books as the story reaches its climax. “Dust” delves deeper into the battle for freedom and survival, providing a satisfying resolution to the overarching narrative.  


By following this order and reading “Wool,” “Shift,” and “Dust” in sequence, you will experience the complete story of the Silo series and follow the characters’ journeys from the beginning to the end.

Optional: Silo Novellas – Once you have read the main trilogy, you can also explore the Silo Novellas written by Hugh Howey. These novellas provide additional stories and background information that complement the main series. While not essential to understanding the core narrative, they offer further depth and insight into the Silo universe. You can choose to read the Silo Novellas in any order that interests you or based on the specific characters or events you wish to explore further.


Silo (series)

How many Silo Books are there?

The Silo series by Hugh Howey consists of THREE (3) main books and SIX (6) additional novellas set in the same universe. The main book series, following the characters and events in the post-apocalyptic world of the Silos. In addition to the main trilogy, Silo Novellas that provide additional stories and background information within the Silo universe.


All Silo Books in Order of Release Date

Here are the Silo books by Hugh Howey in order of their release:

1. Wool — July 30, 2011

2. Wool: Proper Gauge — November 30, 2011

3. Wool: Casting Off — December 11, 2011

4. Wool: The Unraveling — December 26, 2011

5. Wool: The Stranded — January 25, 2012

6. First Shift — Legacy — April 14, 2012

7. Second Shift — Order — November 12, 2012

8. Third Shift — Pact — August 17, 2013

9. Dust — August 17, 2013


What book series is Silo based on?

The Silo series by Hugh Howey is not based on any specific book series. It is an original series created by the author, Hugh Howey. The Silo series is a self-contained story with its own unique world and narrative. Hugh Howey’s imagination and storytelling skills brought the Silo universe to life, captivating readers with its post-apocalyptic setting and thought-provoking themes.


How many stories is the Silo?

The Silo series consists of three main books: “Wool,” “Shift,” and “Dust.” These three books form the core narrative and follow the story of the inhabitants of Silo 18, their struggle for survival, and their quest to uncover the truth about their existence.

In addition to the main trilogy, there are several Silo Novellas written by Hugh Howey. These novellas provide additional stories and background information that enrich the world of the Silo series. Some of the notable Silo Novellas include; Wool: Proper Gauge,” “Wool: Casting Off,” “Wool: The Unraveling,” “Wool: The Stranded,” “First Shift: Legacy,” “Second Shift: Order,” and “Third Shift: Pact.”

So, in total, there are three main books and several Silo Novellas that expand upon the world and characters introduced in the main trilogy.


In conclusion, the Silo series by Hugh Howey stands as a remarkable dystopian saga that captivates readers with its intricate storytelling, rich world-building, and compelling characters. Across the main trilogy of “Wool,” “Shift,” and “Dust,” readers are taken on a thought-provoking journey through a post-apocalyptic landscape where humanity’s survival hangs in the balance. Through themes of control, resilience, and the indomitable human spirit, the Silo series explores the depths of human nature in the face of adversity. With its satisfying conclusion and additional novellas that expand the universe, the Silo series leaves a lasting impact and solidifies its place among captivating dystopian fiction.

Thanks for Visit!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *