Shawn Mendes Albums in Order

The List of Shawn Mendes Albums in Order of Release Date

Shawn Mendes Albums in Order: With over 20 million albums and 175 million singles sold worldwide, Shawn Mendes has firmly established himself as a prominent figure in the music industry. Hailing from Canada, Mendes is a talented singer and songwriter who has captivated audiences around the globe.

His impressive discography includes four studio albums, two live albums, two reissues, three extended plays, 20 music videos, and a multitude of hit singles. Known for his soulful and honest music, Mendes has managed to strike a unique balance between the realms of teen-pop and adult-contemporary genres. Drawing inspiration from artists such as John Mayer and Ed Sheeran, he has crafted a sound that resonates with listeners of all ages.

Born in the suburbs of Toronto in August 1998, Mendes first gained recognition by sharing six-second covers of popular songs on the video-sharing platform Vine. Similar to Justin Bieber’s rise on YouTube, Mendes successfully transitioned from cover songs to original material, solidifying his position as a rising star.

His debut album, “Handwritten,” catapulted him to stardom, and subsequent releases like “Illuminate” and the self-titled “Shawn Mendes” demonstrated his growth as an artist, delving into mature themes such as anxiety and sexuality. Mendes’s ability to stay true to himself and create music that resonates with his audience has endeared him to fans worldwide. So, if you’re a devoted follower of Shawn Mendes and his remarkable discography, we’ve compiled a list of Shawn Mendes albums in order of release.


All Shawn Mendes Albums Available on:  Apple Music


List of Shawn Mendes Studio Albums in Order of Release Date

1. Handwritten (2015)

Shawn Mendes’s debut studio album, “Handwritten,” released in 2015, marked a significant milestone in the young artist’s career. Bursting with heartfelt melodies and captivating lyrics, the album showcased Mendes’s undeniable talent and raw emotional depth. With his soothing vocals and soulful delivery, he captured the hearts of listeners around the world.

“Handwritten” offered a blend of catchy pop anthems and introspective ballads, reflecting Mendes’s growth as a songwriter and performer. The album’s standout tracks, such as the chart-topping “Stitches” and the tender “Life of the Party,” demonstrated Mendes’s ability to craft infectious hooks while maintaining an authentic and vulnerable tone.

The album’s title, “Handwritten,” symbolized the personal touch Mendes infused into each song, drawing listeners into his world of love, heartbreak, and self-discovery. It was a testament to his ability to connect with audiences on a deeply emotional level, leaving a lasting impression. “Handwritten” solidified Shawn Mendes’s place as a rising star in the music industry and set the stage for his subsequent successful albums.


2. Illuminate (2016)

Shawn Mendes’s second studio album, “Illuminate,” released in 2016, showcased the artist’s evolution as a singer-songwriter. With a blend of pop and acoustic elements, Mendes delivered a mature and introspective collection of songs that captivated audiences worldwide.

“Illuminate” featured the hit single “Treat You Better,” a catchy and heartfelt track that resonated with listeners. The album delved into themes of love, self-reflection, and personal growth, with Mendes’s signature vulnerability shining through in every song.

With his soulful voice and skilled guitar-playing, Mendes demonstrated his musical prowess throughout the album. Tracks like “Mercy,” “Ruin,” and “Three Empty Words” showcased his ability to infuse raw emotions into his music, creating a deeply relatable experience for his fans.

“Illuminate” established Shawn Mendes as a force to be reckoned with in the pop music scene. The album’s introspective lyrics, combined with Mendes’s captivating performances, solidified his position as a talented and authentic artist, paving the way for his continued success in the years to come.


3. Shawn Mendes (2018)

Shawn Mendes’s self-titled studio album, “Shawn Mendes,” released in 2018, showcases the Canadian singer-songwriter’s growth as an artist and his ability to craft catchy pop tunes with emotional depth. The album features a mix of acoustic-driven ballads and upbeat, radio-friendly tracks, highlighting Mendes’s versatility as a performer.

With hits like “In My Blood” and “Lost in Japan,” the album explores themes of love, self-discovery, and vulnerability. Mendes’s smooth vocals and heartfelt lyrics captivate listeners, drawing them into his world of introspection and personal experiences.

“Shawn Mendes” demonstrates the artist’s artistic evolution, showcasing his willingness to experiment with different sounds while maintaining his signature sound. The album received critical acclaim for its sincerity and authenticity, solidifying Mendes’s status as a rising pop star with staying power.

Overall, “Shawn Mendes” is a captivating body of work that showcases the young artist’s talent and growth, leaving a lasting impression on fans and listeners alike.


4. Wonder (2020)

Shawn Mendes’s studio album “Wonder” was released in 2020, marking the artist’s fourth studio album. This highly anticipated album showcases Mendes’s growth as both a musician and a songwriter. “Wonder” presents a collection of introspective and heartfelt tracks that delve into themes of self-discovery, love, and personal reflection.

With its polished production and captivating melodies, the album demonstrates Mendes’s ability to evolve his sound while staying true to his signature style. Tracks like the title song “Wonder” and “Monster” featuring Justin Bieber showcase Mendes’s emotive vocals and powerful songwriting skills. The album also features collaborations with artists like Khalid and Halsey, adding depth and diversity to the overall sound.

Overall, “Wonder” is a mature and introspective album that showcases Shawn Mendes’s growth as an artist. It’s a testament to his ability to connect with listeners on a deeper level and solidify his position as one of the most talented and influential pop artists of his generation.


Shawn Mendes Wallpaper

How many albums does Shawn Mendes have?

Canadian singer and songwriter Shawn Mendes has released FOUR studio albums, TWO live albums, two reissues, THREE extended plays, TWENTY music videos, TWENTY singles (including TWO as a featured artist), and NINE promotional singles.


All Shawn Mendes Albums in Order of Release Date

Here is the list of Shawn Mendes  Album in Order of Release Date:

Studio albums:

1. Handwritten — April 14, 2015

2. Illuminate — September 23, 2016

3. Shawn Mendes — May 25, 2018

4. Wonder — December 4, 2020



1. Handwritten Revisited — November 20, 2015


Live albums:

1. Live at Madison Square Garden — December 23, 2016

2. MTV Unplugged — November 3, 2017


Extended plays:

1. The Shawn Mendes EP — July 28, 2014

2. Spotify Singles — November 14, 2018

3. Shawn Mendes: The Album (Remixes) — December 21, 2018



Shawn Mendes has delivered a string of captivating studio albums, showcasing his evolution as a musician and artist. From his self-titled debut album to the introspective “Illuminate” and the heartfelt “Wonder,” each release has allowed fans to witness Mendes’s growth and artistic maturity. With his soulful voice and honest songwriting, Mendes’s studio albums serve as a testament to his talent and cement his status as a formidable presence in the music industry.


Thanks for Visit!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *