Insidious Movies Images

How to Watch Insidious Movies in Order [Chronologically and by Release Date]

Insidious Movies in Order: Experience a night full of fright with the Insidious (Film series), including the latest chapter in the saga, Insidious: The Last Key. Relive the scares and thrills with each terrifying film. Based on an original story by Leigh Whannell, Insidious is a series of American horror films created by James Wan and Leigh Whannell, follows the lambert family and paranormal investigator Elise Rainer (Lin Shaye) through paranormal worlds, psychic visions.

The first two Insidious films center on a couple who, after their son mysteriously enters a comatose state and becomes a vessel for ghosts in an astral plane, are continuously haunted by demons of a hellish realm known as the Further until they take from the family what they want most: life. The third film, a prequel, focuses on the same psychic who helped the family; this time she comes to the aid of a young girl who calls out to the dead, and the fourth follows her when her own family becomes haunted. All plots are depicted as case files of demonologists.

The insidious universe is going for another Fifth chapter that is a direct sequel to Chapter 2, follows their son Dalton going to college and gets haunted by a presence. Plots are depicted as case files of demonologists, and focuses on people who unwillingly make contact with the demonic world. So you might be hankering to rewatch all four Insidious Movies to the date. So this page will are going to explain the correct order of Insidious Movies to watch. “I am opening up a door to the spirit world to provide you with answers. Don’t get scared, just follow my words.” So watch now all Insidious Movies in Order.


How to Watch Insidious Movies in Chronological Order

1. Insidious: Chapter 3 (2015)

Go back to the beginning….in this chilling prequel that takes place before the unforgettable haunting of the Lambert family. The third installment in the Insidious franchise, Insidious: Chapter 3 is a prequel to the haunting of the Lambert family in the first two films.

The film is about a girl—Quinn—who is haunted by a demon after trying to call out to her mother Lillith, who died. In the film, When paranormal investigators Tucker and Specs team up with the psychic Elise to help a teenage girl contact her late mother, Elise is forced to venture back into The Further where she finds a ruthless supernatural entity craving the souls of the living. It’s the darkest chapter yet in this spine-tingling portrayal of evil unleashed.


2. Insidious: The Last Key (2018)

The creative minds behind the hit Insidious franchise bring you the most horrifying chapter of the series, Insidious: The Last Key. The fourth installment in the Insidious franchise and the second in the chronology of the story running through the series, Insidious: The Last Key follows parapsychologist Elise Rainier as she investigates a haunting in her childhood home.

In the film, parapsychologist Elise Rainier receives a disturbing phone call from a man who claims that his house is haunted. When the client Ted Garza calls Elise to ask for help since he is haunted since he moved to a house in New Mexico, Elise refuses the request since the address is the same house where she spent her childhood. However she changes her mind and accompanied by her two investigative partners, Rainier travels to Five Keys to confront and destroy her greatest fear — the demon that she accidentally set free years earlier. Dr. Elise Rainier, the brilliant parapsychologist faces her most fearsome and personal haunting yet: in her own family home.


3. Insidious (2010)

From the makers of Paranormal Activity, the first installment in the Insidious franchise and the third in terms of the series’ in-story chronology, Insidious (2010) centers on a couple whose son inexplicably enters a comatose state and becomes a vessel for a variety of malevolent entities in an astral dimension. In the film, Married couple Josh and Renai Lambert, their sons Dalton and Foster, and infant daughter Cali, have recently moved into a new home. Shortly after moving, The family starts to experience disturbing paranormal events. They discover that dark spirits have possessed their home and that their son has inexplicably fallen into Acoma. Trying to escape the haunting and save their son, they move again only to realize that it was not their house that was haunted.


4. Insidious: Chapter 2 (2013)

How deep into the darkness will you go to discover the truth? The terrifying sequel to Insidious and the second installment in the Insidious franchise and the fourth in terms of the series’s in-story chronology, Insidious: Chapter 2, centers on a husband and wife who seek to uncover the secret that has left them dangerously connected to the spirit world. In the film, the haunted Lambert family seeks to uncover the mysterious childhood secret that has left them dangerously connected to the spirit world. They must rely on familiar allies to exile the demons that follow them and unearth the secret before the evil continues its deadly rampage.


5. Insidious: Fear the Dark (2023)

Insidious Fear the Dark Images

Insidious: Fear the Dark serves as both the fifth installment in the Insidious franchise and the fifth installment in terms of chronology.

Set ten years after the end of previous first two films, Josh Lambert (Patrick Wilson) heads east to drop his son Dalton (Ty Simpkins) off at an idyllic, ivy-covered university. However, Dalton’s college dream becomes a nightmare when the repressed demons of his past suddenly return to haunt them both.

Insidious: Fear the Dark is scheduled to be theatrically released on July 7, 2023, by Sony Pictures Releasing.

Insidious Movies Image

How many Insidious movies are there?

There are FIVE (5) films in the Insidious franchise, – Insidious (2010), Insidious: Chapter 2 (2013), Insidious: Chapter 3 (2015), Insidious: The Last Key (2018) and Insidious: Fear the Dark (2023)—and they have grossed a total of $539 million worldwide on a combined budget of $26.5 million.


All Insidious Movies in Order of Release Date

Here is the list of Insidious films in Order of Release:

1. Insidious — April 11, 2011

2. Insidious: Chapter 2 — September 13, 2013

3. Insidious: Chapter 3 — June 5, 2015

4. Insidious: The Last Key — January 5, 2018

5. Insidious: Fear the Dark — July 7, 2023


Will There Be More Insidious Movies?

Jason Blum mentioned a crossover film between his Insidious and Sinister franchises, codenamed Insinister, during a press interview for The Last Key in January 2018. He said, “we’re going to cross our worlds at some point… We’re going to try,” indicating that he thought the project had future development potential.


Where to Watch Insidious film series Movies?

Right now you can watch Insidious on HBO Max. You are able to stream Insidious by renting or purchasing on Google Play, iTunes, Amazon Instant Video, and Vudu.



Similar to other horror franchises like The Conjuring and Halloween film series, watching the Insidious films in chronological order isn’t as simple as watching all four films in release order. If you’re watching the Insidious movies for the first time or re-watching them, you can choose between watching them in the order they were released or in the order in which the story actually takes place. The order in which you do these things is up to you now. But when we watch it, we prefer to do so in order.

Thanks for Visit!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *