The Five Stages of Grief Images

What are the 5 Stages of Grief in Order?

5 Stages of Grief in Order: We all know what it’s like to experience loss. Each of us will experience loss at least once in our lives. Grief is something that all of us go through frequently throughout our lives. Because of the loss of a loved one, the end of a job, the breakup of a relationship, the passing of a pet, or any other event that causes significant upheaval in one’s life.

Grief is the emotional reaction to a loss, usually the loss of a person or other living thing to which one had a strong emotional connection before it died. In addition to the emotional response, there are also cognitive, behavioral, social, cultural, spiritual, and philosophical aspects to the grieving process. Bereavement is the state of having suffered a loss, while grief is the emotional response to that loss.

In 1969, Swiss-American psychiatrist Elisabeth Kübler-Ross described five common stages of grief, popularly referred to as DABDA in her book On Death and Dying. Elisabeth Kübler-Ross’s the five stages of grief model (or the Kübler-Ross model) is popularly known as a model that describes a series of emotions experienced by people who are grieving: Denial, Anger, Bargaining, Depression and Acceptance.

Kübler-Ross originally developed stages to describe the process patients with terminal illness go through as they come to terms with their own deaths; it was later applied to grieving friends and family as well, who seemed to undergo a similar process. There’s no order to them and they serve as a reference instead of a guide on how to grieve. To learn more, refer to our guide for understanding the five stages of grief in order.

What are the 5 stages of grief in order?

According to Kübler-Ross, the five stages of grief are:

  1. Denial
  2. Anger
  3. Bargaining
  4. Depression
  5. Acceptance

Here’s what to know about each one.

The Five Stages of Grief in Order

1. Denial


The first thing you do is deny it. In this stage, people think that the diagnosis is wrong and hold on to a false, better reality. Some people may also withdraw from others who may have come to terms with what is happening. This is usually a short-term defense, as long as the person has enough time to move on to the next stage as they think about dying. In her book, Kübler-Ross says that technological advances have made people afraid of violent, painful deaths. Because of this, she says, people deny the fact that they will die in order to protect their psychological minds.


2. Anger


When the person realizes that denial can’t go on, they get angry, especially at people who are close by. Some of the ways a person’s mind would change during this phase are: “Why me? It’s not fair!” “How could this happen to me?” “Who is to blame?” “Why would this happen? “. Some people may lash out at family members, medical staff, or other family members. In her other book, Questions and Answers on Death and Dying, Kübler-Ross says that people should do their best to let people in this stage feel their anger and try not to take it personally.


3. Bargaining


In the third stage, a person hopes that he or she can avoid something that caused the grief. Most of the time, a longer life is traded for a change in how the person lives. People with less serious problems can negotiate or try to find a middle ground. For example, a person who is dying “negotiates with God” so they can go to their daughter’s wedding, or a person who tries to get more time to live in exchange for changing their ways of living, or a phrase like “If I could trade their life for mine.”


4. Depression


Depression is a mental state of low mood and aversion to activity. “I’m so unhappy, why do anything?” “What’s the point? I’m going to die soon.” “I miss my loved one, so what’s the point?” In the fourth stage, the person feels hopeless when they realize they are going to die. In this state, the person may stop talking, refuse to see people, and spend most of their time being sad and quiet.


5. Acceptance


Acceptance in human psychology is a person’s assent to the reality of a situation, recognizing a process or condition (often a negative or uncomfortable situation) without attempting to change it or protest it.

“Everything will be fine.” “I can’t stop it, so I might as well get ready for it.” In this last stage, people accept their own death, the death of a loved one, or some other tragic event. People who have died may be in this state before the survivors. People in this state are usually calm and able to look back on their lives with a stable emotional state.


Are there 5 or 7 stages of grief?

The ‘Five Stages of Grief’ model is the foundation for the ‘Seven Stages of Grief’ model. The ‘Five Stages of Grief’ model was developed by the American-Swiss psychiatrist Elisabeth Kübler-Ross in the 1960s. Since then, her strategy has undergone some changes and been expanded to include seven steps; nonetheless, there is still area for argument within each of these stages.


What are The 7 stages of grief?

The seven phases of mourning are another common paradigm that is used to explain the many different and complex experiences that come with loss. These seven stages consist of the following:

1. Shock & Denial

2. Pain & Guilt

3. Anger & Bargaining

4. Depression 

5. The Upward Turn

6. Reconstruction & Working Through

7. Acceptance & Hope


Who created the 5 stages of grief?

Elisabeth Kübler-Ross came up with the five stages of grief model, which became popular after she published her book On Death and Dying in 1969. Kübler-Ross made her model to describe people with terminal illnesses who are facing their own deaths. But it wasn’t long before people started using it as a way to think about grief in general.


What is the hardest stage of grief to go through?

There is no one stage that is unanimously agreed upon as being the most challenging to get through. Grief is a really personal and unique feeling. The most difficult stage of the grieving process can be very different for each individual, as well as for each unique set of circumstances.


Can I experience the 5 stages of grief in a relationship?

There are five stages of mourning you’ll go through even if you were the one who broke up with your partner. According to Mental-Health-Matters, these stages are: denial, rage, bargaining, depression, and acceptance. These are the methods nature provides for mending a broken heart.


How long do the 5 stages of grief last?

There is no hard and fast rule for how long any of these phases should last. The stages of grief can be experienced differently by different people; for some, they may be experienced rapidly (within a couple of weeks), while for others it may take months or even years.


Thanks for Visit!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *